Breaking News

Amphibian Animals

Animals can not only live on land, but can live in two realms, namely land and water. Animals that have these two habitats are called amphibians or amphibians.

Of course, it is not foreign to hear the word “amphibian”, because we often meet these animals that can live on land and water in the surrounding environment.

However, do you know about the details of the definition of the amphibian animal itself, and also the characteristics of the animal belonging to amphibians? If not, let’s first learn about the meaning of these animals, and the characteristics they have.

Understanding of amphibians, and the habitats that exist in the two realms, as well as food, and how these animals reproduce will be explained below.

Understanding Amphibians

Groups of animals that generally have a backbone ( vertebrates ) or also called animals that can live in two realms, namely: living on land and in water.

The word amphibian is taken from 2 Greek words which mean ” amphi ” and ” bio “. The two words have the meaning of “two” and “life”, which implies that amphibians are animals whose habitats live in two realms.

Amphibian Animal Habitat

Amphibians are spread all over the world. Some amphibians spend most of their lives in water, and can also be found living in the deserts of the Arctic. The distribution of amphibians is influenced by the humidity factor where they can reproduce.

Amphibian Animal Reproduction

Reproduction usually occurs in certain seasons, namely autumn and winter. Amphibians are vertebrate animals that have stages or processes of metamorphosis. The existence of this metamorphosis process causes the body shape of amphibians from birth to adulthood to vary. Amphibians reproduce by means of eggs and tadpoles.

Amphibian Pet Food

Amphibian food sources come from sluggish animals such as snails, and eat invertebrate food such as earthworms, caterpillars and others. The main function of a sticky tongue is used to catch prey.

There are some amphibians that also swallow their own tadpoles and eggs when they have to, such as not having enough food to eat.

Characteristics of Amphibians

The explanation above has given some characteristics of amphibians. However, there are still some characteristics that need to be known more fully.

Goes through a complete metamorphosis phase.

Eggs are laid in a humid environment.

Fertilization externally (outside the uterus).

Thin skin, smooth and has pores.

The skin contains poison glands.

Cold blooded (regulate temperature from outside the body).

The heart consists of 2 atria and 1 ventricle .

Closed circulatory system.

Webbed feet.

The size of the limbs varies.

Based on the characteristics above, the amphibian heart organ consists of 3 chambers, namely 2 chambers of the atria of the heart which function to receive blood flow from all over the body. While 1 ventricular chamber or heart chamber assigned to pump blood.

Characteristics of amphibians that have varied limb sizes are usually the front limbs are smaller than the hind limbs.

Types of Amphibians

Based on the explanation and characteristics of amphibians, it turns out that there are various types of animals. These animals are classified into 3 types or 3 classes of amphibians, namely:

1. Anura

The class Anura is also known as the order Salientia . When in the form of a larva, this type of animal group has a tail , but when it grows up it slowly begins to disappear. There are more than 3,400 species of animals in this class.

Frogs with moist skin are included in the anura class, as well as other animals that have frog-like characteristics.

2. Apoda

Amphibians that do not have a tail and legs are included in the Caecilia type of order or class Apoda. The skin texture is soft, and small scales, covering the body, can produce toxins. The animal’s venom helps him to survive the attacks of his enemies.

The apoda class is also included in the order Gymnophiona which is spread across Southeast Asia, Africa, and Central and South America. The lack of vision ability can be helped by the tentacle sensors possessed by apoda species.

3. Caudata

The salamander is one of the amphibians of the order Caudata. Body shape like a lizard, and usually its habitat on land, but can also live in water because it has a water breathing apparatus.

There are approximately 550 species spread throughout the world, but none in our country, Indonesia. Only the types of animals that exist in the order Apoda and Anura that live in Indonesia.

Salamanders can regenerate body parts that have been severed so that they can grow into new organs. The abilities possessed by salamanders are also possessed by frogs and lizards.

Amphibians are grouped into 3 orders above. Animals that fall into this group are animals such as frogs and caecilia , as well as salamanders.

Animal Examples

If grouped by way of animal reproduction, amphibians have several examples of animals that lay eggs or are oviparous .

Amphibians generally reproduce by giving birth, but there are some that reproduce in other ways.

Well, below is an example of the type of amphibian that lays eggs according to each order.

  1. Frogs – Order Anura

The way frogs reproduce by laying eggs, and fertilization outside the parent’s body (external fertilization). It is said that frogs are a type of metamorphosis, because:

→ The female frog lays a collection of her eggs in the water, which is then fertilized by the male parent.

→ The eggs grow and develop in the water until the eggs hatch.

→ Tadpoles or tadpoles are the initial form of frogs, they look like fish that do not have legs and live by swimming.

→ Tadpoles breathe with gills.

→ Tadpoles grow up. This growth removes the gills, and grows other organs, namely the legs and lungs for the respiratory apparatus.

  1. Ceacilia – Order Ceacilia

Types of animals that when they reach adulthood look like earthworms or snakes. One example of an amphibian that lays eggs is the type of ceacilia . The shape of the eggs looks unique, because the egg shells are transparent, so the future children can be seen very clearly.

The female parent will incubate about 2 months to 3 months. These animals do not undergo a process of metamorphosis like frogs, so the initial shape when they hatch is the same as their mother.

  1. Salamanders – Order of the Caudata

Salamanders also undergo metamorphosis like frogs, but there are differences in the process of metamorphosis, namely:

→ Salamander eggs hatch into larvae, and live in water.

→ Adult salamanders will grow legs, and other organs such as breathing apparatus.

→ Respiratory system through the lungs, and also the gills, some even use the skin.

Examples of the three animals are amphibians that lay eggs, and are grouped according to their respective orders. In addition to the examples above, there are still examples of amphibians that lay eggs, namely: Iguanas, Water Dragons, Frogs, and Ichthyosis glutinosus , and also others.

Habitat for animals that can live in two realms or commonly called amphibians, do not always live in two realms at once. This happens because there are more dominant living on land or in water only. So to classify correctly, first study the characteristics, types, and also examples of these animals.