Breaking News


Mammals are unique animals, because their habitat does not only live on land, but also in water, such as freshwater dolphins or porpoises.

There are so many species of mammals, even up to 5,000 different species of mammals, ranging from fish, insects, and others. Let’s get to know in more detail about this cub!

Definition of Mammal Animals

Mammals are animals that can suckle. The word mammal itself comes from the word ” mammae ” which means breast. Types of animals that have mammary glands are included in the mammal group.

Mammals have the main characteristic, namely, there are mammary glands in the inner parent and male parent. The mammary glands of the male parent will experience shrinkage or reduction, unlike the mammary glands of the female parent.

In addition to the main features above, the following will be discussed in more detail.

envy–Features of Mammals

Animals which are also said to be vertebrates have the following characteristics.

  • Warm blooded metabolism.
  • Have mammary glands.
  • Has hair and fur.
  • Has nails and claws.
  • Have complete teeth.

The complete teeth that mammals have are molars, incisors, and canines with one tooth change. The circulatory system contained in the brain and heart has a 4-chamber regulatory system.

Broadly speaking, this group of animals has complete body organs, and can be used for activities, such as: moving, running, jumping, and swimming.

Types of Mammals

Animals that have more than 5,000 species are still classified again into 19 orders, namely:

1. Order Artiodactyla

Artiodactyla are animals that have even toes.

One example of the order Artiodactyla, namely: Banteng (Scientific name: Bos Sondaicus ).

2. Order Carnivora

Carnivores are a type of meat-eating animal.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Wolf (Scientific name: Canis Lupus ).

3. Order Cetaceans

Mammals of the order cetacea are large animals that live in the sea.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Sea Dolpin (Scientific name: Dholpinus Delvis ).

4. Order Chiroptera

The main characteristic of Chiroptera mammals is that they have the ability to fly, and the two front legs can develop and become wings.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Bats (Scientific name: Chiroptera ).

5. Order Dermoptera

Dermoptera is a type of animal that has wing skin, and has a hairy parachute or patagium between its legs.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Sunda Kubung or Sunda Flying Lemur (Scientific name: Galeopterus variegatus ).

6. Order of Insectivora

These insectivorous mammals will use insects as their food. However, they can also eat seeds, as well as worms.

This type of animal has closed eyes or does not like light, large claws, and the soles of the feet are larger in front of the other.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Borneo animals with a length of 65 cm, the name Echinosorex albus .

7. Order Laghomorpha

In simple terms it can be described that the laghomorpha is a plant-eating animal or herbivore . Has characteristics: four-legged, small in stature, has a short tail, and eats plants.

One example of an animal Mammal order Artiodactyla: Rabbit (Scientific name: Oryctologus Cuniculus ).

8. Order Marsupialia

Animals of this type of marsupials have characteristics: the female parent has a pouch in the stomach. The bag is used to put the child.

One example of an animal Mammal order Artiodactyla: Koala (Scientific name: Phascolarctus cp ).

9. Order Perissodactyla

Mammals with an odd number of toes.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Donkey (Scientific name: Equus Asinus ).

10. Order Proboscidea

All types of elephants are mammal species.

One example of mammals of the order Artiodactyla: Indian and Indonesian elephants (Scientific name: Elephas Maximus ).

11. Order of Primates

Animals of the order primates or order primates have large hands and strong fingers to make it easier for them to climb trees. This type of mammal can eat everything.

One example of an animal Mammal order Artiodactyla: Gorilla (Scientific name: Gorilla ).

12. Mammals Order Rodentia

The order Rodentia lives without fangs, and they are rodents that have thick, large incisors. This type of rodentia can also live in two realms, namely water and land.

One example of the order Artiodactyla, namely: Marmot (Scientific name: Marmota SP ).

After knowing the characteristics above, of course, you can give some examples of animals based on each order as above.

Based on the example above, there are animals that can live on land as well as in the sea or water. Mammals that live on land have the same respiratory system as humans.

Come on, now discuss the respiratory system of mammals in detail below!

Mammals Respiratory System and Equipment

Mammal Respiration:

  • Larynx.
  • Throat.
  • Lungs.

The respiratory apparatus above includes mammals that live on land. Meanwhile, mammals that live in water have a nose valve, so that when they dive into the water, the valve will automatically close.

Likewise, when mammals go to land, their respiratory system will regulate itself, meaning that the valve opens. When the valve is open, at the same time the mammal will inhale oxygen, and release carbon dioxide, as well as water vapour.

Mammal Animal Disease

The manual for diseases of mammals is classified into several diseases, namely:

1. Viral Disease

Have various types of diseases, one of which is:

Akabane. Akabane virus has a spherical shape with a size of 70 – 130 nm. This virus agglutinates red blood cells of geese, ducks, and pigeons.

The mode of transmission of this virus is through the bite of the Culicoides sp vector in Australia, and Culicoides Brevitursis is the main vector type.

There is no definite treatment, there is only prevention or control through vaccination.

2. Bacterial Disease

One of the manuals for mammalian bacterial diseases, namely:

Black Leg, can also be called inflammation of the thigh. This type of disease is not transmitted by contact, but includes infectious diseases. Usually attacks animals such as cattle and sheep.

The most common source of transmission is through soil and food contaminated with bacterial spores. Transmission also occurs when cutting horns, shearing fur, or through the process of giving birth to animals.

Prevention so as not to get this disease by vaccinating livestock at the age of 6 months. Once vaccinated can protect in the long term.

There are still 2 manuals for diseases of mammals, namely: Mikal Disease and Parasitic Disease. Each disease has a type of disease or another disease name. So, when raising animals, it is advisable to be more careful so that the disease does not spread to your livestock or pets. Because of the susceptibility of diseases transmitted from these animals, so it needs extra health care.